I Am A…

I am a ‘pantser’!

When I write my novels, I don’t write outlines and I don’t plan it all out in advance. I begin with a character or a vague idea of a potential manuscript and I go with it. Often this means that I don’t finish the story or don’t even pursue it for any length of time, however if I attach myself to an idea, it becomes my obsession. I know that there are some writer’s out there who would probably think I’m insane for even attempting an unplanned novel but I hate to conform to a specific idea and if there were a plan written down, I’d feel compelled to follow it.

Having no plan also means that I have to rewrite several times. I always begin with a handwritten draft that usually just ends up being the vague idea. With Moonlit Tragedy, I am already on my fourth rewrite and it hasn’t even been seen by an editor yet. It is exhausting sometimes but completely worth the time. I love to write and seeing my novel improve with each version brings me so much satisfaction.

Q/A

  • Did I ever try writing a plan? After discovering that I was in the minority of writer’s who didn’t, yes I tried it. No, it didn’t work out.
  • How long does it take me to complete a book? I’ll tell you when the time comes. However, my first draft of MT took approximately 14 months.
  • Is it better to be a ‘plotter’ or a ‘pantser’? It all depends on the way your brain works. My mind is in constant hyperdrive and ideas bubble out at twenty per second. I couldn’t answer this question for you.
Leave a Reply

